Quantcast

[Skip to content] [Skip to main navigation] [Skip to user navigation] [Skip to global search] [Accessibility information] [Contact us]

Booking information

Free, banded entry every 45 minutes.
Last entry at 2.45pm.
For families with children aged 3+.

About this event

Join us every Monday, Tuesday and Thursday in the summer holidays to take part in free Horniman craft activities.  Sessions start at 11am and run every 45 minutes.

On Mondays and Thursdays join our Art and Craft tutors to make fantastic crafts inspired by our Indian Summer programme and our temporary exhibition The Robot Zoo.  

On Tuesdays you can make your very own Nature Notebook, then use it to explore our Gardens and record the things you find.

Programme

July

  • Mon 24 July: Butterfly Finger Puppets – this week is the Big Butterfly Count – celebrate by making your own beautiful finger puppets to flutter around the Horniman.
  • Tues 25 July: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 27 July: Butterfly Finger Puppets – this week is the Big Butterfly Count – celebrate by making your own beautiful finger puppets to flutter around the Horniman.
  • Mon 31 July: Owl Friends – have fun making your very own little feathery owl friend to take home.

August

  • Tues 1 Aug: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 3 Aug: Owl Friends – have fun making your very own little feathery owl friend to take home.
  • Mon 7 Aug: Flying Garden Birds – lots of birds live in the gardens and on our Nature Trail, make your own garden bird, complete with flapping wings.
  • Tues 8 Aug: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 10 Aug: FlyingGarden Birds – lots of birds live in the gardens and on our Nature Trail, make your own garden bird, complete with flapping wings.
  • Mon 14 Aug: Rajasthani Horsemen – make a traditional Rajasthani Horseman toy, then decorate with lots of colour and shiny materials!
  • Tues 15 Aug: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 17 Aug: Rajasthani Horsemen – make a traditional Rajasthani Horseman toy, then decorate with lots of colour and shiny materials!
  • Mon 21 Aug: Grasshopper Puppets – grasshoppers are featured in our brilliant Robot Zoo exhibition. Have a go at making your own grasshopper friend to hop around the Museum!
  • Tues 22 Aug: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 24 Aug: Grasshopper Puppets – grasshoppers are featured in our brilliant Robot Zoo exhibition. Have a go at making your own grasshopper friend to hop around the Museum!
  • Mon 28 Aug: Carnival Headdresses – this week is carnival week, have fun making and decorating a brilliant headdress to dress up in.
  • Tue 29 Aug: Nature Notebooks – creature your very own notebook and then explore the Museum and Gardens and fill it with your discoveries.
  • Thu 31 Aug: Carnival Headdresses – this week is carnival week, have fun making and decorating a brilliant headdress to dress up in.